A Crazy Girl's obsession with all things makeup

My Signature Scent

"Delicious" by Gale Hayman Beverly Hills

            I am a bit of a perfume addict. At the height of my craze I had almost 20 bottles of unique fragrances. Not that that was enough, mind you; I just didn’t have the money to purchase more. I even had this wonderful scent that my husband purchased for me while on deployment in the Middle East; it was from Dubai to be exact. If I could read Arabic, I would have found out the name of that fragrance and purchased a box full of it, but I digress.

            So to say that it is hard for me to pin down my “signature scent” is a bit of an understatement. I have so many favorites and I like them all for so many different reasons. But if I had to choose ONE, one fragrance that I can’t live without, one fragrance that I always have a bottle of, one fragrance that I would grab if the house were burning down and I could only get my hands on ONE, it would have to be Delicious by Gale Hayman Beverly Hills. There are several variations, Golden Delicious, Delicious Cotton Candy, Delicious Amber but it’s the original scent that is the highlight of my perfume collection.

        It was introduced to me in my teen years by a friend of my mother’s, she was the epitome of beauty to me and I wanted to be just like her, look like her, smell like her. When I saw the oblong bottle with the peach colored fragrance topped by a translucent cat lounging lazily on the top it was love at first sniff.

        The actual fragrance itself is feminine. It smells of jasmine and roses but it has a hint of sandalwood, so it’s not a true floral scent, it has a bit of a spicy undertone. Because it was introduced in 1993 it isn’t like the more modern scents in department stores today, it is reminiscent to me of the fragrances my mother and grandmother wore. This is definitely a “grown woman’s” perfume. I think it would be too much for a teenage girl. It is long lasting and it lingers on your clothes. I often am doing my laundry and will come across a shirt that has a trace of the scent still on it. I always get compliments when I wear it and I think it is definitely a dressier scent. It reminds me of Sunday morning church services and Ladies Luncheons.

But the best thing about the fragrance, in my opinion, is the price. It sells for $22.03 for a 3.4oz bottle on Amazon.com. Don’t let the meager amount fool you, this is no cheap smelling perfume. And because it’s such an old scent, it is a little known gem which is great for me because I like to smell distinct. I love fragrances that don’t have a large following.

So there it is, my signature scent. I hope this review was helpful and that you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it. I also hoped it inspired you to take a trip down a road less travelled when it comes to your fragrance choices and experiment with some lesser known brands and scents. You might be pleasantly surprised at what you discover.

Leave a comment